Frequently Asked Questions for Class/ Course Requirements for the Virginia Permit To Carry A Concealed Firearm
I took your class previously and my application was denied becuase they require proof of an in-person class. Can I get an updated certificate that states the class was in-person? Yes, we can create you a updated certificate if need be. We have updated the certifciate we issue to reflect this change in the requirment for the permit. We also have an afidavit that you can submit with our previous certificate stating that our classes have always been in person. CLICK HERE FOR A COPY
The Best Safety Device For Any Firearm Is a Well Trained Operator!
What do I need to bring?
Nothing, just your ID, and some money!
Do I need to bring a firearm?
No, You do not need to own or bring a firearm.
Do I need to know how to shoot?
No, You do not need a familiarity with firearms prior to attending this course.
Will we shoot during class?
No, for the standard Virginia Permit shooting/qualifying is not required.
Will I walk away with my permit?
No, you will receive your training certificate (good for your lifetime) that satisfies all of the requirements to receive a Virginia concealed handgun permit and explicit directions on how to proceed. Virginia is a “Shall Issue” state and if you have a clean record you will receive your
permit within a few weeks. By law, it can be no longer than 45 days.
Do I need to attend this class if I’m military?
The short answer is no. Concealed permits are issued by the judge in your County of residence. As long as you have your military ID, DD214, or other identifying paperwork showing military experience with handguns, most judges will issue you a permit without any additional training. However, we recommend our class anyway as you may not be familiar with many of the laws governing Virginia concealed carry.
What if I’m just stationed in Virginia?
You qualify. Take your orders to the courthouse and you can apply for a Virginia Resident concealed permit as above.
What if I have an expired permit?
You will need to re-apply as you did initially. No additional coursework is required, as long as you have your original training certificate. Or you will have to take another class like ours again.
How many states can I carry in with my Virginia permit?
This is subject to constant updates due to ever changing laws however; the Virginia resident concealed permit is currently recognized by the states shown in the map above on this page.
What if I’m not a Virginia resident?
Our class qualifies you for a Virginia non-resident permit.
I took the class but have lost my certificate, how do I get a replacement?
There is a $20.00 fee for replacement certificates. We will need some information from you to verify you in our records. Your full name, address, location of the class, date of the class etc..
The more information you can provide for verification the better. If we can not find you in our records we can not provide a replacement certificate.
Frequently Asked Questions for Class/ Course Requirements for the Utah Non-Resident Permit To Carry A Concealed Firearm
What is the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit and why is it so popular?
The Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) is one of the most sought-after permit because with it, law-abiding citizens may currently legally carry a firearm concealed in 39 states when combined with a Virginia Resident Permit.
How would you describe the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) course?
The Utah CFP course is a 3-4 hour classroom based course taught by NRA certified & Utah BCI certified instructors. The course includes the following topics: handgun safety rules, handgun parts and operation, ammunition, fundamentals of shooting, safe firearms handling, Utah criminal & traffic code, U.S. federal firearms regulations, BCI administration policy, practical and legal considerations, and more.
What all is included in the tuition cost for the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit course?
In addition to the classroom portion of the class, you also receive the FBI fingerprinting (which is required), and passport photo service to help expedite the submitting of your application. Also each course participant packet contains: handouts for the material covered, a Utah Non-Resident CFP application, and an envelope to mail in all of your paperwork.
Do I have to be a resident of Utah to obtain this permit?
No. Any U.S. citizen of any state (including the District of Columbia) may apply for a non-resident Utah Concealed Firearm Permit after taking the required course with us.
In addition to taking the required Utah training, what are the application
requirements for obtaining a Utah non-resident Concealed Firearm Permit?
•Applicant must be at least 21 years of age
•Applicant must obtain a concealed permit (CFP, CCW, or CHP) from their home state and submit a copy of it with their application for the Utah permit only if you live in a state that recognizes or has reciprocity with the Utah CFP. Maryland & DC don’t have reciprocity with Utah, however, Virginia does. People that take the Utah course with us will also receive a course completion certificate signed by instructors that are both NRA Certified & Utah BCI Certified. This course completion certificate can be used to apply for a concealed permit in their home state if needed. Residency is determined by your state issued identification. A list of reciprocal state are below.
•Proof of good character…whereas the applicant;
◦has not been convicted of a felony;
◦has not been convicted of any crime of violence;
◦has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol;
◦has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of
narcotics or other controlled substances;
◦has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude;
◦has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence;
◦has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as
mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or
◦A criminal background check is conducted for all applicants.
◦If you have unique or specific questions about your eligibility status, you
can contact a Utah BCI Investigator at (801) 957-8620 before sending in
your application to obtain Utah’s Concealed Firearm Permit.
Which states have reciprocity and recognition with Utah?
To see a list of states that have formal written agreements to honor a Utah Concealed Firearm Permit, Click Here
Do you accept walk-up registrations for this course?
Which permit is more widely accepted throughout the United States, the Florida Concealed Firearm License or the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit?
This is a hard question to answer. Laws and reciprocity agreements change all the time. Florida still has sought after permit; however, Utah currently does have 2 more states that recognize it vs. a Florida permit. This is due to recent reciprocity changes.
Is there application fees to apply for a Utah Concealed Firearm Permit?
Yes, there is fee to apply for the 5 year Utah Non-Resident Firearm Permit. The cost is only $47.00 and must be paid to the Bureau of Criminal Identification when you mail in all of your paperwork.
What do I need to bring with me to the class?
Every thing needed is always provide for our classes, all you need to bring is your current valid drivers license.
Where do you offer this course?
We teach all of our courses at most of the Gun Shows in Virginia, as well as at select Partners around Virginia. We also do private events and will come to you with a minimum of 10 people.
Firearms training, firearm classes, weapons training, self-defense, violent crime, conflict avoidance, home and personal defense, personal protection planning and much more!
1. How Does the Risk of Violent Crime Compare to Other Risks?
In the United States, there were more than 1.2 million violent crimes in 2010, including 15 thousand murders, 85 thousand rapes, 368 thousand robberies, and 779 thousand assaults. That means that you are more than three times as likely to be the victim of a violent crime than you are to be the victim of a residential fire, and you are more than 58 times as likely to be assaulted than you are to be injured in a home fire.
2. What is a Personal Protection Plan?
At its most basic level, a personal protection plan is designed to help keep us physically, legally, financially, and morally safe. While our personal protection plans should include becoming proficient with a firearm or other defensive tool, our ultimate goal should be to avoid violent encounters in the first place by developing an acute awareness of our surroundings, and by making intelligent decisions about our actions, behavior and precautions.
3. Why is Conflict Avoidance So Important?
The only guaranteed method of surviving a violent encounter, is to avoid it in the first place. (In a court of law the prosecuting attorney will want to know more than just “who was the assailant?” and “who was the victim?” They’ll want to know what did you do to avoid or instigate the fight?)
4. What is the Reasonable Person Test?
In part, the prosecutor will use what’s known as a “reasonable person test”. That means that they’ll weigh whether or not they believe a “reasonable person” would have believed the same things you believed to be true, and reacted the same way you reacted.
By “reasonable person,” the prosecutor doesn’t mean your friends, your family, the gang at the local shooting club, or other permit holders. They mean 12 likely jurors, many of whom may hate guns.
5. Is it Worth Dying Over or Going to Jail Over?
Because of that test, a use of force on our part must carry such seriousness attached to it, that it’s a fair question to ask “is this situation worth going to jail over?” or “is this situation worth dying over?” If the answer is yes, then we’ll need to be prepared to live with the results. If the answer is no, then we’ll need to work hard to remove ourselves from the situation (quickly!) before the only option remaining is a use of force.
6. When is a Use of Force Appropriate?
A use of force on our part should only be done as a last resort, when we had no other choice, when the risk of death or jail time was secondary in our minds, compared to the necessity of defending ourselves from an unavoidable situation that we didn’t start, and we couldn’t escape from.
7. What are some of the best ways to Avoid Becoming A Victim of Crime?
• Avoid blind spots – When approaching blind spots at the corners of buildings or when approaching trees, tall bushes, concrete pillars, or vehicles, give them a wide berth. Turn to observe the hidden area as you approach. Get ready to run!
• Avoid Low Light Areas – Plan routes through well-lit areas rather than routes with little or no light.
Follow the Crowds – Criminals count on an easy escape with no witnesses! Sticking with the crowds is one of your best methods of avoiding violent crime. Regardless of how convenient a shortcut might seem or however safe you might feel heading to your car late at night all alone, that’s the kind of behavior that criminals count on to find easy victims.
• Define Barriers, Cover , Concealment and Escape Routes – When under threat, any Barrier between you and the threat increases your ability to escape.
• Concealment is anything that hides you from the threat (a closed door, a wall, or anything you can duck behind).
• Cover (things like concrete pillars, or the front of vehicles where the engine block is) protects you from incoming bullets. Identify routes and opportunities to increase distance between you and a threat (walking, running, or driving away) or to reach cover or concealment.
• Safety in Numbers = Personal Security – When in public, travel with a companion. Move faster than the crowd and be a people watcher. Always be in condition yellow. Never go to a stranger’s house alone and never allow a stranger into your house when you’re alone. When dining out, don’t take a seat with your back to the door and know where the exits are. At the first sign of trouble, leave the area.
8. What are some of the best ways to auto-car burglary?
• Automobile Security – Keep valuables out of sight and do not leave paperwork in your car with your home address. Note where you parked your vehicle and be observant of the immediate area when entering or exiting your vehicle. Be especially observant when loading the car or buckling in children. Lock your vehicle immediately upon entering. Leave room to maneuver when you come to a stop.
9. What are some to avoid becoming the Victim of Road Rage?
Be a courteous driver – allow other drivers to merge, don’t tailgate, keep off the horn, and keep that middle finger to yourself. If you are involved in a fender bender, call the police and stay in your vehicle until you can evaluate the situation.
10. What are some of the best ways to Improve my Personal Security?
• Home Security – Keep doors locked and the garage door closed, even when at home. Have ample exterior lighting – don’t be the only house on the block with the lights out. Leave an interior light on a timer. Use good quality door locks and add a deadbolt and/or a hotel type “throw over” lock to both front and back doors. Get an alarm system and set it religiously, especially when at home. Keep driveway clear of snow and front steps clear of newspapers, especially when home. Consider getting a dog. Not an attack dog, just a dog that will bark at the first sign of an intruder.
• Phone Security – Use caller ID and don’t answer calls from unknown numbers. DO NOT give out personal information, such as whether you live alone, whether you have a security system, etc. Keep a cell phone in your bedroom so that you can call 911, even if your home phone becomes disabled.