UPDATE: Georgia does now honor the Virginia CHP! Thanks to the VCDL and their counter parts in Georgia, Georgia Carry to help get the laws changed!
We have had more than a few people tell us that Georgia now honors Virginia Concealed Handgun Permits, and argue when we tell them that it is not in fact the case. I’m not sure where that information is coming from but, I can tell you there is a lawsuit by Georgiacarry.org, Inc, Virginia Citizens Defense League, and Robert Sadtler (the VCDL EM) vs. Chris Carr (individually and in official capacity as the Georgia Attorney General) to recognize licenses issued by Virginia. Link to a copy of the lawsuit: http://georgiacarry.com/state/virginia_reciprocity/complaint.pdf
Georgia will issue a concealed handgun permit to anyone 21 years of age or older, or honorably discharged veterans who are not yet 21. The new Virginia law that was enacted and went into effect July 1st, 2016 states Virginia will honor any permit issued by any state as long as they are 21 years of older. Therein lays the rub, as Georgia is taking an all or nothing attitude towards honoring Virginia permits as Virginia will only honor a Georgia permit if the person is 21 or older.
A spokeswoman for the Georgia Attorney General referred to Georgia Code O.C.G.A. § 16-11-126 (e) and stated that there would be no further response to the lawsuit. The code referenced being “Any person licensed to carry a handgun or weapon in any other state whose laws recognize and give effect to a license issued pursuant to this part shall be authorized to carry a weapon in this state, but only while the licensee is not a resident of this state; provided, however, that such licensee shall carry the weapon in compliance with the laws of this state.”
As for now, there is still no reciprocity with Georgia for a Virginia Concealed Handgun Permit. Here is a link to the offical list of States Georgia does have reciprocity: http://law.ga.gov/firearm-license-reciprocity
So, If you would like a permit that does have reciprocity with Georgia we can help you with that by taking one of our Utah, or Virginia & Utah classes. As an added bonus you would also have reciprocity in the states of Delaware, Wisconsin, & Washington (not D.C.) as well as the 35 states that do honor a Virginia Resident Concealed Handgun Permit.
Written by: Jason Gibbens